The Perks Of Being A Book-Nerd | Going to the Library/Bookstore

If you are in love with books, like I am, this can cause some awkward and funny situations. So I’ve compiled a list of a few situations (slightly dramatised, I must admit) that you might relate to as a book worm.

// The “Going to The Library/Bookstore” Edition //

Me: *pets book in bookstore because it’s so pretty*

Me: *stares at bookstore in admiration*
Me to self: “No. You are not going in there.”
Me to self: “But but but please!”
Me to self: “No.”
Me to self: “Aww come on! Only for five minutes!”
Me to self: “Okay. Five minutes and not a second more!”
Me: *walks out of bookstore half an hour later*

Me: *goes to bookstore / library with other person*
Me: *picks up book* *stares at it in admiration*
Other person: Have you read it?
Me: Yes omg it’s so good you should read it and it’s about this girl and she is [endless rambling about how much I love the book.]
Other person: *silently backs away*

Me: *goes to library*
Me: *picks up book*
Me: omg I need this
Me: *picks up another book*
Me: this one too
Me: oh and this one
Me: and this and this and this and this
Me: I can’t carry all these books that ridiculous. I should leave half of them here.
Me: I CAN’T CHOOSE, they’re all so precious!
Me: *Brings all of them home.*

Do you relate?

24 thoughts on “The Perks Of Being A Book-Nerd | Going to the Library/Bookstore

  1. I never, never leave the library with the number of books I intended to get. And then I get more than I can finish before the loans expire and have to try to figure out the most optimal way to renew them so I manage to have time for all of them 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I try to keep myself at a 3-book maximum, but I can’t help it if the library just has so many good books! When I was young I used to bring the maximum amount of books and was able to bring them back within the loaning time, but sadly I can’t read that much in a short time anymore. I admire your planning skills 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As someone who works in a library, I can confirm many people struggle with too many books. It’s always great seeing people with a stack of books whether they’re young parents with picture books, teenagers with young adult or elderly people with their crime thriller large prints.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Strangely, I don’t relate. Seeing as how I’m on a very strict low-buy/no-buy I’ve been using the library a lot more, but I never check out more than what I’ll actually read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been craving to go to a good bookstore lately, but there’s nothing close to my home 😦 although, that might be a good thing though because I can’t afford to buy all the books I’ll probably find there!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. AYY YESS #relatable haha. I love going into bookshops and libraries just to browse, even if I don’t buy anything… (Although I mostly get stuff out my library if it’s possible. But visiting libraries in other places is also cool.) I love finding my favourite books there as well for some reason!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah me too, finding your favourite books in bookstores is great! I love saying a silent “hi” to my faves. I’m a little weird 😛
      I mostly spend my time browsing and not buying in bookstores, they always just not have the right book, or the price is just a little too high, but I enjoy going there a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your post made me laugh so much! That entire monologue goes on in my head whenever I’m surrounded by books! I’ve learned my lesson to not go with people I know to the bookstore because they just annoy me by not being as enthusiastic as I am. I always have to walk past every book shelf that has a book I read as a way of saying ‘hi’ too. I don’t know if you do that though or if it’s just weird.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love going to the bookstore on my own because then I don’t have to be afraid to be weird. I always spend like 5 minutes doubting whether I should buy the book or not and it’s kinda weird because I just keep lingering. I always say a silent “hi” to the books too! Especially ones that I’ve read, they weirdly feel like friends somehow 🙂
      I’m happy you enjoyed the post!

      Like

  6. Definitely relate to the picking up a ton of books, realising I can’t carry them or I lack sufficient funds, then struggling with choosing! The pain 😫

    Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!